Website is currently under development and all content is not accurate.

Temporary Resident Visa

Temporary Resident Visa

Unless they are citizens of a visa-exempt country, individuals who wish to enter Canada as tourists, temporary foreign workers (with work permits) and international students (with study permits) must apply for a Temporary Resident Visa (TRV).

(Citizens of visa-exempt countries intending to travel to Canada by air are expected to apply for an electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) before their departure to Canada. Exceptions include citizens of the United States, who do not require a TRV or an electronic Travel Authorization (eTA), and Green Card holders in the United States, who need an eTA to come to Canada, regardless of their nationality. Unless otherwise exempt from the requirement to obtain a TRV or an eTA, individuals who require a TRV do not require an eTA, and vice versa.)

Temporary Resident Visa is issued by Canadian Immigration Visa Office outside Canada, showing that the holder has satisfied the admission requirements of Canada as a visitor. TRVs can be for single entry and multiple entry as well.

As a general rule, tourists are admitted for a period of six months. Temporary foreign workers and international students are admitted for varying periods of time, which is determined on case-by-case basis.


NOTE: At the Port of Entry, all visitors must demonstrate that the purpose of their visit to Canada is of temporary nature. Officers at the Port of Entry may deny admission to persons who, in their opinion, do not intend to leave Canada at the expiry of their visitor status.


TRVs are required for citizens of certain countries. The chart below outlines which individuals require a TRV and which individuals need an eTA in order to enter Canada.

Country TRV Requirement eTA Requirement
Afghanistan Yes No
Albania Yes No
Algeria Yes No
Andorra No Yes
Angola Yes No
Antigua and Barbuda No Yes
Argentina Yes No
Armenia Yes No
Australia No Yes
Austria No Yes
Azerbaijan Yes No
Bahamas No Yes
Bahrain Yes No
Bangladesh Yes Yes
Barbados No Yes
Belarus Yes No
Belgium No Yes
Belize Yes No
Benin Yes No
Bhutan Yes No
Bolivia Yes No
Bosnia and Herzegovina Yes No
Botswana Yes No
Brazil Yes No
Brunei Darussalam No Yes
Bulgaria Yes No
Burkina Faso Yes No
Burundi Yes No
Cabo Verde Yes No
Cambodia Yes No
Cameroon Yes No
Canada Yes No
Central African Republic Yes No
Chad Yes No
Chile No Yes
China Yes No
Colombia Yes No
Comoros Yes No
Congo Yes No
Costa Rica Yes No
Croatia No Yes
Cuba Yes No
Cyprus No Yes
Czech Republic No Yes
Democratic Republic of the Cong No Yes
Denmark No Yes
Djibouti Yes No
Dominica Yes No
Dominican Republic Yes No
Ecuador Yes No
Egypt Yes No
El Salvador Yes No
Equatorial Guinea Yes No
Eritrea Yes No
Estonia No Yes
Ethiopia Yes No
Fiji Yes No
Finland No Yes
France No Yes
Gabon Yes No
Gambia Yes No
Georgia Yes No
Germany No Yes
Ghana Yes No
Greece No Yes
Grenada Yes No
Guatemala Yes No
Guinea Yes No
Guyana Yes No
Haiti Yes No
Honduras Yes No
Hungary No Yes
Iceland No Yes
India Yes No
Indonesia Yes No
Iran Yes No
Iraq Yes No
Ireland No Yes
Israel (Passport Holders) No Yes
Italy No Yes
Ivory cost Yes No
Jamaica Yes No
Japan No Yes
Jordan Yes No
Kazakhstan Yes No
Kenya Yes No
Kiribati Yes No
Kyrgyzstan Yes No
Latvia No Yes
Lebanon Yes No
Lesotho Yes No
Liberia Yes No
Libya Yes No
Liechtenstein No Yes
Lithuania No Yes
Luxembourg No Yes
Macedonia Yes No
Madagascar Yes No
Malawi Yes No
Malaysia Yes No
Maldives Yes No
Mali Yes No
Malta No Yes
Mauritania Yes No
Mauritius Yes No
Mexico No Yes
Monaco No Yes
Mongolia Yes No
Montenegro Yes No
Morocco Yes No
Mozambique Yes No
Myanmar Yes No
Namibia Yes No
Nepal Yes No
Netherlands No Yes
New Zealand No Yes
Nicaragua Yes No
Niger Yes No
Nigeria Yes No
Norway No Yes
North Korea Yes No
Oman Yes No
Pakistan Yes No
Palau Yes No
Panama Yes No
Paraguay Yes No
Peru Yes No
Philippines Yes No
Poland No Yes
Portugal No Yes
Qatar Yes No
Republic of Korea (South Korea) No No
Republic of Moldova Yes No
Romania Yes No
Russia Yes No
Rwanda Yes No
Saint Kitts and Nevis Yes No
Sao Tome and Principe Yes No
Saudi Arabia Yes No
Senegal Yes No
Serbia Yes No
Seychelles Yes No
Sierra Leone Yes No
Singapore No Yes
Slovakia No Yes
Slovenia No Yes
Somalia Yes No
South Africa Yes No
Spain No Yes
Sri Lanka Yes No
Sudan Yes No
Suriname Yes No
Swaziland Yes No
Sweden No Yes
Switzerland No Yes
Syria Yes No
Tajikistan Yes No
Thailand Yes No
Timor-Leste No Yes
Togo Yes No
Tonga Yes No
Trinidad and Tobago Yes No
Tunisia Yes No
Turkey Yes No
Turkmenistan Yes No
Tuvalu Yes No
Uganda Yes No
Ukraine Yes No
United Arab Emirates Yes No
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland No Yes
Tanzania Yes No
United States of America No Yes
Uruguay Yes No
Uzbekistan Yes No
Vanuatu Yes No
Venezuela Yes No
Vietnam Yes No
Yemen Yes No
Zambia Yes No
Zimbabwe Yes No
Anguilla No Yes
Bermuda No Yes
Israel (Holder of travel document in lieu of Passport) Yes No
Kosovo Yes No
Kuwait Yes No
Macau Yes No
Taiwan No Yes

apply now

Get in Touch With Us

We’d love to hear from you. Send us a message and we’ll reply as fast as we can.

    Sydney Office Address:

    Suite 3A Level 9, 428 George Street
    The Dymocks Building
    NSW 2000 Australia

    Postal Address:

    PO Box Q833 Queen Victoria
    Building Sydney Australia 1230